Walter 'Junie' Morrison of The Ohio Players Passes Away at 62

Walter "Junie" Morrison, a member of the funk group The Ohio Players, died February 16. Morrison joined the band in the early 70's as a keyboardist, producer and singer. He was involved in some of The Ohio Players' major hits and the albums “Pain,” “Pleasure,” and “Ecstasy.” He was largely responsible for writing and arranging the band's 1974 hit single, "Funky Worm.”

In 1977, Morrison then joined George Clinton and his funk group Parliament-Funkedelic. Morrison was responsible for that group's album "One Nation Under A Groove" which spawned the hit "(Not Just) Knee Deep." He became a 1997 inductee to The Rock And Roll Hall of Fame along with the members of Parliament-Funkedelic. He formed his own label, Juniefunk, when in 2004, he released his album "When The City."

Morrison passed away at the age of 62.